Sunrise Chickens

Waking up early used to be pure torture for me, and by early I mean anytime before 10am. Now I do get up at 5am for work sometimes and if I wasn’t working, I would get up around 9am, but still, I’m a lover of some major sleeping in. That was the Before-Chickens era.

Nowadays the sky begins to lighten before 4:30am, with sunrise before 5:30am, which means I’m mostly up and out at the chicken coop around 5am. Now don’t get me wrong, waking up early everyday hasn’t become an easy thing for me to do, but it hasn’t been as dreadful as I had thought it would be neither. Sometimes I do lie in bed a few extra minutes, debating with myself whether I should just sleep a little more. But knowing how much the chickies love being outside at day break to gobble up insects that have moved into the run during the night, I trudge sleepily out to the coop. I call out to them as I open up the door, and they all come fluttering out, squawking excitedly. Pretty soon, they settle down, chirping contentedly as they scratch and peck and stretch their wings.

With a smile on my face as I stand among my little herd of chickens, all bathed in the warm summer sunrise, I realize that waking up at 5am has some very sweet rewards.Chicken in the sunrise 

It’s only 5:30am, but hey, why not have a little nap together on the roost?chickens in the sunrise

Ok so sometimes I actually get up closer to 6am than 5am, and a couple of times I did accidentally sleep in till close to 7am. Another confession, I am still looking forward to the time when the sun will rise at a much later hour.

8 thoughts on “Sunrise Chickens

  1. Liisa

    Before chickens I also thought waking up at 10 am was a reasonable wake up time, now my favorite time is early morning, with a cup of tea, watching the chickens.

    Reply
    1. HornesPointHomestead Post author

      I’m glad you also thought 10am was an ok time to get up Liisa, I feel reassured! A cup of tea while watching the chickens sounds like a lovely idea, but I think I have to wait until the black fly and mosquito season is over 🙂

  2. Kimberly

    What lovely pictures! I woke up at 5am today also but I didn’t have such a lovely view.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

